空间设施高压氮气系统

若要下载并打印此案例研究,请点击此处。 

公司:

Space Power Facility (SPF) 拥有世界上较大的空间环境模拟室(真空室),直径为 100 ft,高 122 ft。设计和建造该设施是为了在模拟的地球低轨道环境中测试核和非核空间硬件。在该设施进行的部分测试项目包括:高能实验、火箭整流罩分离测试、火星探测器系统测试、可展开的太阳帆测试和国际空间站硬件测试。SPF 位于美国宇航局设立于俄亥俄州桑达斯基 Plum Brook 基地的格伦研究中心。

挑战:

此系统用于支持美国宇航局太空电力工厂 (Space Power Facility)(位于俄亥俄州桑达斯基)新设计和制造的混响声学测试中心 (RATF)。太空电力工厂由 SAIC Constructors(即工作完成时身为 SAIC 全资子公司的 Benham Constructors, LLC)完成升级,具有振动声学功能,其中包括混响声学、机械振动和模态测试设施。

Chart 的系统可让氮气流过声号筒,然后将其变为惰性吹扫气体。此次升级是格伦空间环境测试项目不可或缺的一部分,该项目负责完成测试设施,为美国宇航局约翰逊航天中心的星座计划 (Constellation Program) 和猎户座乘员探索飞行器 (Orion Crew Exploration Vehicle) 提供一站式空间环境测试服务。CEV 是新一代载人航天飞行器的一部分,专为返回月球和火星而研发。

声号筒室有 36 个氮气驱动的声号筒,可以模拟航天器发射和超音速上升条件下会经历的高噪音水平。在 101,500 立方英尺的混响室内,RATF 的总声压级可达 163dB。

解决方案:

Chart 能够在高压液体供应系统方面提供技术专业知识和建议。与 Benham/SAIC Constructors 和最终用户合作,我们设计出了一款可以满足所有客户要求的系统。Chart 笃定,客户的现有设备并不适合他们的应用。为减少高压泵维护,Chart 设计并制造了一款无泵系统。该系统能够在 300 psig 的恒压下以 780 gpm 的速度持续储存和输送液氮 20 分钟,还能每天进行一次测试。液氮可以流入支持以 72,000 scfm 的流速进行气化的水浴式气化器。

该系统采用 370 psig (500 MAWP) 的 VS-6000 高压推顶储罐,可为两个 300 psig (363 MAWP) 的 VS-9000 储罐提供蒸气压力,以便支持液体提取过程中所需的流速。该系统由 Benham 的 SCADA 系统使用两个单独的 PID 控制回路和两个 CPT 特征的座椅控制阀进行控制,可保持三个储罐的压力,以备随时使用。

Chart 为所有的液氮供应设备提供了设计、工程、制造、供应以及调试服务。针对 Chart 供应设备下游系统的高级工程服务包括对所有低温管道进行热和应力分析。 

联系 Chart

明尼苏达州新布拉格

+1 800 400 4683

+1 800 400 4683

Chart Ferox

捷克共和国杰钦

+420 412 507 111

+420 412 507 111

Chart 中国

中国常州

+86 519 859 6000

+86 519 859 6000

联系表

Case Study #10 – LN2 High Pressure Tank Supply System

For a printable version of this case study click here

Company:

The Space Power Facility (SPF) houses the world’s largest space environment simulation chamber (vacuum chamber) measuring 100 ft. in diameter by 122 ft. high. The facility was designed and constructed to test both nuclear and non-nuclear space hardware in a simulated Low-Earth-Orbiting environment. Some of the test programs that have been performed at the facility include high-energy experiments, rocket-fairing separation tests, Mars Lander system tests, deployable Solar Sail tests and international Space Station hardware tests. The SPF is located at the NASA Glenn Research Center at the Plum Brook site in Sandusky, Ohio.

Challenge:

This system went to support the newly designed and manufactured Reverberant Acoustic Test Facility (RATF) at the NASA Space Power Facility in Sandusky, Ohio. The Space Power Facility was upgraded by SAIC Constructors (known as Benham Constructors, LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of SAIC at the time the work was done) with vibroacoustic capabilities, which include reverberant acoustic, mechanical vibration and modal test facilities.

Chart’s system is used to flow nitrogen gas through acoustic horns and as an inert purge gas. The upgrade is an integral part of Glenn’s Space Environment Test Project, responsible for completing test facilities to provide one-stop space environmental testing required by the NASA Constellation Program and the Orion Crew Exploration Vehicle at Johnson Space Center. CEV is part of the next generation of manned space flight vehicles being developed for the return to the Moon and Mars.

The horn room has 36 nitrogen-driven acoustic horns to simulate the high noise levels that will be experienced during a space vehicle launch and supersonic ascent conditions. The RATF is capable of an overall sound pressure level of 163dB within a 101,500 cubic foot reverberant chamber.

Solution:

Chart was able to provide technical expertise and advice in high-pressure liquid supply systems. Working with Benham/SAIC Constructors and the end user, we designed a system to satisfy all customer requirements. Chart was able to determine that their existing equipment would not work for their application. In order to reduce the maintenance of high pressure pumps, a pump-less system was designed and manufactured by Chart.  The system is capable of storage and delivery of liquid nitrogen at 780 gpm at a constant pressure of 300 psig for a duration of 20 minutes and one test per day. The liquid nitrogen flows into the water-bath vaporizer which supports a vaporization of a flow rate of 72,000 scfm.

The system utilizes a high pressure VS-6000 pusher tank at 370 psig (500 MAWP) to provide vapor pressure on two VS-9000 storage tanks at 300 psig (363 MAWP) to support the flow rates required during liquid withdrawal. The system is controlled by Benham’s SCADA system by using two separate PID control loops and two CPT characterized seat control valves to maintain pressure of all three tanks for a ready-to-use status.

Chart provided the design, engineering, manufacturing, supply and commissioning of all LN2 supply equipment. Senior Engineering Services for systems downstream of Chart’s equipment of supply includes thermal and stress analysis of all cryogenic piping.