避开臭鼬味啤酒 - 维持生啤酒生产线

您前往当地的酒吧喝上几杯,还能观看大学生篮球冠军赛。就像得分后卫站在 3 分线外准备投篮一样,您自信地前往酒吧,然后从酒吧提供的健康啤酒清单中点一杯喜欢的精酿啤酒。

就像球队在通往四强的道路上迎战 Phoenix 队一样,您急切地等待着品尝第一口美味的 IPA 或绵密的黑啤。但是,当啤酒放在您面前,您喝了第一口,然后感觉有点不太对劲。有一股怪味,啤酒的颜色变了,味道也受到了影响。

您已经喝过好几次这款啤酒。这是您的必点啤酒。您期待着享受美味的啤酒,但就像一记跳投在二分线被大前锋盖帽一样,您的味蕾受到了出其不意的打击。

发生了什么?

精酿啤酒酿酒师对自己酿造的啤酒倍感自豪。精酿需要许以一生的承诺,从挑选合适的原料,到对设备、实际酿造和装瓶过程进行清洁和消毒。酿酒师希望自己的最终产品无可挑剔、口感始终如一。

不幸的是,有时候这超出了酿酒师的控制。桶装产品离开啤酒厂后,产品就归酒吧、餐厅和小酒馆的所有者处置。如果出酒系统得不到妥善维护,酿酒师的声誉将会受损,顾客的体验和酒吧或餐厅的盈利也会受到影响。

干净的出酒管对保持精酿啤酒的品质至关重要。管线(包括啤酒桶和酒龙头)的清洁度对啤酒质量和实际酿造过程一样重要。

可能会让您付出代价

DraughtQuality.org 的一项研究显示,酒吧和餐厅由于啤酒输送管不干净而导致利润减少近 7%。那么,街角的小酒馆为何不更努力地使管线(包括啤酒桶和酒龙头)保持干净,让顾客满意,从而保持精酿啤酒的质量呢?这看上去是很容易处理的问题。

该研究还发现,如果酒吧按照美国酿酒商协会的建议每两周清洗一次出酒管系统,则销售额有望增加 4% 到 7%。另一个好处是,许多啤酒分销商为客户提供免费的管线清洁服务。因此,管线干净意味着更好的盈利。

 

 

如何清洁

以下是美国酿酒商协会定义的出酒管清洁度标准下限:

  • 您应该至少每两周使用碱性清洁剂清洁出酒管,以便清除快速积聚的蛋白质和薄膜。
  • 清洁化学品应以高达 2 加仑/分钟的速度在产品线上循环至少 15 分钟。不建议浸泡产品线,但如果无法进行循环清洗,则清洁溶液应在管线内至少保留 20 分钟。
  • 所有龙头应每两周彻底拆卸和清洁一次。务必更换任何损坏的密封件或垫圈。
  • 每季度应进行一次酸洗,以去除无机化合物,如“啤酒石”(矿物沉积物)。
  • 使用管线清洁化学品时,务必佩戴手套,以保护眼睛和面部。
  • 应每年更换所有乙烯基跳线和乙烯基直接绘制线。
  • 根据情况更换联轴器。检查联轴器底部的密封件和 O 形环,确保使用食品级润滑油对其进行适当润滑。
  • 品质优良、维护良好的联轴器、龙头和长柄可以终身使用。100% 不锈钢的零部件可靠性十分出色,可以为您的员工和客户提供优质体验。
  • 清洁后,务必使用干净的水冲洗管线!
  • 在倒入根啤、果味或胡椒味啤酒、酸啤酒、玛格丽塔酒或苹果酒后,可能需要更换出酒管,以避免造成永久性的风味影响。

遵循这些指南,您就不会遇到酵母、霉菌、啤酒浸泡细菌或草酸钙(更为常见的叫法是啤酒石)积聚的问题。通过定期清洁啤酒管线,您不但可以保证精酿啤酒具有本该有的口感,而且即使顾客喜欢的大学球队被一所中等水平的球队打败,他们也会感到十分满意。

Avoiding Skunky Beer - Maintain Draught Beer Lines

You go to your local watering hole for a few pints and to catch some March Madness. Like a shooting guard pulling up behind the arc for a 3-pointer, you confidently go to the bar and order one of your favorite craft beers from the healthy list of beers the bar has on tap.

Just like teams fighting toward Phoenix on the road to the Final Four, you eagerly await the first sip of a crispy tasting IPA or creamy stout. However, as the beer is placed in front of you and you take that first sip, something is just not right. There is an odd smell, the color of the brew is off and the taste is tainted.

You have had this beer several times. It’s your go-to beer. You look forward to enjoying it, and just like a sure jump shot that gets swatted into the second row by a power forward, your taste buds are blindsided.

What Happened?

Craft brewers take pride in the beers they brew. Craft brewing takes a lifetime of commitment from picking the proper ingredients, to cleaning and sanitizing your equipment and the actual brewing and bottling process. Brewers want their final product to be perfect and taste the same, every time.

Unfortunately, some times that is out of the brewmasters control. Once the kegged product leaves the brewery, the product is at the mercy of the owners of bars, restaurants and pubs. If the draught system is not properly maintained, the brewer’s reputation will suffer, the patron’s experience is tainted and the bottom line of the bar or restaurant will suffer.

Clean draught lines is paramount when maintaining the quality of craft beer. The cleanliness of the line, going from the keg to the tap is just as important to the quality of the beer, as is the actual brewing process.

It Could Cost You

According to a study at DraughtQuality.org, bars and restaurants can see a reduction of nearly 7 percent due to dirty beer lines. So why wouldn’t a corner pub not go the extra mile to maintain a clean line from keg to tap and keep patrons happy and thus preserving the quality of the craft beer? It seems to be a no-brainer.

The same study also revealed a bar that cleans its draught line system every two weeks, which is recommended by the Brewers Association, and they can expect increased sales by 4 percent to 7 percent. Another perk is many beer distributors offer their customers complimentary line cleaning services. So clean lines means a better bottom line.

How To Clean

Below are BA defined minimum standards for draught cleanliness:

  • At a minimum, you should clean your draught line every two weeks with an alkaline detergent cleaner to remove protein and films that build up quickly.
  • The cleaning chemical should be recirculated through the product line for a minimum of 15 minutes at a velocity up to two gallons/minute. Soaking product lines is not recommended, but the cleaning solution should be left in-line for at least 20 minutes if recirculation is not an option.
  • All faucets should be completely disassembled and cleaned every two weeks. Make sure to replace any damaged seals or gaskets.
  • Acid cleaning should be performed quarterly to remove inorganic compounds such as “beer stone,” which are mineral deposits.
  • Make sure to wear gloves and protect your eyes and face when using line-cleaning chemicals.
  • All vinyl jumpers and vinyl direct draw lines should be replaced annually.
  • Couplers should be replaced based on condition. Inspect the coupler bottom seal and O-rings, to make sure they are properly lubricated with a food-grade lubricant.
  • Good quality, well-maintained couplers, faucets and shanks can last a lifetime. Parts that are 100 percent stainless steel are the most reliable and will provide the best quality experience for your staff and customers.
  • Always make sure to rinse lines with clean water after cleaning!
  • Draught lines may need to be replaced after pouring root beer, fruit or pepper-flavored beers, sour beers, margaritas or ciders in order to avoid permanent flavor influence.

By following these guidelines you can avoid the buildup of yeast, mold, beer-soaked bacteria or the buildup of calcium oxalate, which is more commonly known as beer stone. By regularly cleaning the beer lines you can guarantee craft beer will taste the way it is supposed to taste and your patrons will be happy even if their favorite college team gets upset by a mid-major school.